Jeannie Banks Thomas (English) received the 2008 Brian McConnell Book Award from The International Society for Contemporary Legend for Haunting Experiences. The publication was co-authored by with colleagues Dianne Goldstein and Sylvia Grider.

Carolyn Barcus (Psychology) received the 2008 Samuel M. Turner Mentor Award from the American Psychological Association.

Kenneth Bartkus (Business Management) received the John L. Blackburn Award for Exemplary Models of Administrative Leadership. Bartkus also received the James W. Wilson Award from the Cooperative Education and Internship Association.

David Bowles (Civil and Environmental Engineering) was named a Diplomate, Water Resources Engineer (D. WRE) of the American Academy of Water Resources Engineers (AAWRE).

Scott Budge (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Qun Gu (Electrical and Computer Engineering) were issued a patent for Image Coding Rate Distortion Adaptive Zero-Tree Based Vector Quantization.

Scott Budge (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Yong Zhang (Electrical and Computer Engineering) were issued a patent for Forward Error Correction with Codeword Cross-Interleaving and Keybased Packet Compression.
Deborah Byrnes (Teacher Education and Leadership) received the 2008 Exemplary Use of Technology Award from the Utah System of Higher Education.

Frank Callendo (Economics) received the 2008 Young Economists Award of the International Institute of Public Finance.

Bedri Cetiner (Electrical and Computer Engineering) was issued a patent for Method and apparatus Association.
Marv Halling (Civil and Environmental Engineering) was named Fellow in the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), which is the second-highest membership grade in ASCE.

Conly Hansen (Nutrition and Food Sciences) was elected Fellow in the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.

Conly Hansen and Carl S. Hansen (Nutrition and Food Sciences) were issued a patent for an Induced Sludge Blanket Anaerobic Reactor (IBR).

Jagath Kaluarachchi (Civil and Environmental Engineering) was named a Diplomate, Water Resources Engineer (D. WRE) of the American Academy of Water Resources Engineers (AAWRE).

Sherry Marx (Special Education and Rehabilitation) and Steve Camicia (Elementary Education) both received Outstanding Educational Research Awards from the American Educational Research Association.

Bruce Miller (Agricultural Systems Technology and Education) received the CSREES Partnership Award for Multistate Efforts.

Robert Pack (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Scott Budge (Electrical and Computer Engineering) were issued a patent for System and Method for Obtaining Lidar Data using Pixel-Aligned Lidar/Electro-optic Data.

Phil Rasmussen (Plants, Soils, and Climate) was named acting director of the Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education Program (SARE).

Claudia Radel (Environment and Society) was awarded an American Fellowship for the 2008–09 academic year by the American Association of University Women Educational Foundation.

Doug Ramsey (Wildland Resources) is the winner of the 2009 Outstanding Service Award from the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing for efforts to preserve valuable information for current and future scientists.

Wei Ren (Electrical and Computer Engineering) received the National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award for his proposal “Distributed Multi-vehicle Cooperative Control—A Consensus Theoretical Approach.”

Lori Roggman (Family, Consumer, and Human Development) received the 2008 Mentor Award from the Society for Research and Human Development.

Sarah Rule (Special Education and Rehabilitation) received the 2008 Outstanding Achievement Award at the Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) Annual Meeting and Conference.

Sarah Rule (Center for Persons with Disabilities) and Charles Salzberg (Special Education and Rehabilitation) jointly received the 2008 Eagle Award from the American Council on Rural Special Education (ACRES).

Larry Sagers (Extension) received the Hall of Fame Award from the National Association of County Agricultural Agents, was the Landscape Horticulture National Winner and received the Master Gardener Water Conservation award.

Charles Sazlberg (Special Education and Rehabilitation) was elected Vice President of the Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children.

Judy Sims (Utah Water Research Laboratory) was elected to the board of directors for the National On-Site Wastewater Recycling Association.

Jan Sojka (Physics) was elected as President-Elect of the Space Physics and Aeronomy Section of the American Geophysical Union.

Frederic Wagner’s (Wildland Resources) Yellowstone’s Destabilized Ecosystem: Elk Effects, Science and Policy Conflict’ was selected for The Wildlife Society’s 2008 Wildlife Publication Award as an Outstanding Book.

Karl White (Psychology) was awarded the 2008 Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from the Arizona School of Health Sciences, from A. T. Still University.

Wenbin Yu (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering) received the Ferdinand P. Beer and E. Russell Johnston, Jr.,Outstanding New Mechanics Educator Award from the Mechanics Division of the American Society of Engineering Education.