Undergraduate Research Advisory Board

The Undergraduate Research Advisory Board was created to support, assess, and improve the undergraduate research program at USU. From the beginning, in the fall of 2007, discussions focused on removing impediments to student access and launching new efforts to enhance the program.

The Board is made up of faculty selected from the Undergraduate Research Mentors of the Year for each college from the preceding academic year, representatives of student-serving units throughout campus, and the Undergraduate Research Fellow Ambassadors. This combination of faculty, staff and students allows for diversity of perspective as the Board guides the Office of Research.

The faculty representatives of the Board are also responsible for selecting the USU Undergraduate Researcher of the Year, and the faculty and student Board members select the USU Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year. Each college winner of these awards is considered for the university-wide prize.

Anyone is free to contact members of the board and ask that items be brought to a board meeting. Alternately, agenda items can be submitted to the Office of Research via email to athena.dupont@usu.edu.

Faculty Representatives

Christopher Scheer, Caine College of the Arts
christopher.scheer@usu.edu

Ryan Berke, College of Engineering
ryan.berke@usu.edu

Michaelann Nelson, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
michaelann.nelson@usu.edu

Nick Dickenson, College of Science
nick.dickenson@usu.edu

Yoon Lee, Emma Eccles Jones College of Education & Human Services
yoon.lee@usu.edu

Chad Albrecht, Jon M. Huntsman School of Business
chad@albrechtfamily.com

Phaedra Budy, S.J. & Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources
phaedra.budy@usu.edu

Program Representatives

Becky Thoms, Libraries
christopher.scheer@usu.edu

Kate Stephens, Center for Community Engagement
kate.stephens@usu.edu

Kristine Miller, Honors Program
kristine.miller.nelson@usu.edu

Luis Rodriguez, Inclusion Center
luis.rodriguez@usu.edu

Monika Galvydis, Office of Global Engagement
monika.galvydis@usu.edu

Crescencio Lopez Gonzalez, LatinX Center
crescencio.lopez@usu.edu

Tony Flores, Veterans Resource Office
tony.flores@usu.edu

Student Representatives

AJ Walters, Biological Engineering
walters.aj101@gmail.com

Nicole Haws, Nursing
n.kearl@hotmail.com

Aleksander Nelson, Journalism
nelsonalek@hotmail.com

Paul Consalvo, Civil Engineering
paul.consalvo@aggiemail.usu.edu

Kenen Goodwin, Fisheries & Aquatic Sciences
urodelan@gmail.com

Katie Miner, Political Science
katiesminer@gmail.com

Emily Rice, Economics
em.rice@aggiemail.usu.edu

Rachel Sagers, Biology
rachel.sagers@aggiemail.usu.edu

Fiona Van Leeuwen, Chemistry
thegeek@terrelvanl.com

Ethan Hammer, Conservation & Restoration Ecology
ethan@thehammersonline.com

Haylee Downey, Psychology
hayleedowney@outlook.com

Anneka Walton, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences
anneka.walton@outlook.com

Thank You

We appreciate the dedication of the Undergraduate Research Advisory Board in helping to strengthen our student programs, develop new initiatives, and further our goals of access and inclusion for undergraduates at USU.

Benefits for representatives on the advisory board may include membership due coverage for the Council of Undergraduate Research (CUR), matching funding for travel to CUR’s events (e.g., biennial conference, Posters on the Hill, institutes) or the National Conference on Undergraduate Research (NCUR), and priority access to the RGS Student Research Travel fund for student representatives.