*Regan Zane

2021 USU Faculty Researcher of the Year

College of Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Regan Zane is the Director of the Center for Advancing Sustainability through Powered Infrastructure for Roadway Electrification (ASPIRE), an NSF sponsored engineering research center involving 9 universities, 55 faculty, 4 national labs, and more than 50 industry and innovation partners. He holds the David G. and Diann L. Sant Endowed Professor position at Utah State University in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, where he founded the USU Power Electronics Lab (UPEL), the Electric Vehicle and Roadway (EVR) research facility and test track, and the Battery Limits andSurvivability Test (BLAST) lab. Dr. Zane has co-authored one book and approximately 200 peer-reviewed articles, has 26 issued patents, has received international and institutional recognition in research, teaching and innovation, and has raised more than $50 million in research funding. His research programs cover key aspects of electrified transportation charging systems and infrastructure, from battery, vehicle, and charging systems to grid integration, smart charge management, demand response and distributed energy resources. His programs maintain a strong emphasis on students and on collaboration with academic, government and industry partners to develop and transition innovative technologies into the marketplace.