Lisa Berreau

Office of Research

Vice President

Lisa Berreau

Contact Information

Phone: (435) 797-3509


After completing her Ph.D., Dr. Berreau was an NIH Postdoctoral Fellow working with Professor William B. Tolman at the University of Minnesota investigating copper/dioxygen chemistry of relevance to the function of metalloenzymes. In 1998, Dr. Berreau joined the faculty in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at Utah State University. As an Assistant Professor she was the recipient of a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award (2001-2006) and Herman Frasch Foundation Award (2002-2007). Dr. Berreau was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in 2004, and to the rank of Professor in 2011. Her research program, which now includes areas that range from inorganic to organic and medicinal chemistry, has been funded by several external agencies including the American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund, the National Institutes of Health, and USTAR, in addition to those noted above. The current research in her laboratory is directed at elucidating the mechanistic pathway of novel oxidative carbon-carbon bond cleavage reactions and at the development of carbon monoxide releasing molecules for potential biomedical applications. To date she has >80 peer reviewed publications. She holds one US patent (9,840,488; Carbon Monoxide Releasing Molecules and Associated Methods). In 2016, the American Association for the Advancement of Science named Dr. Berreau as a Fellow. She is the fourth USU faculty member to receive this prestigious recognition. In 2019, she was named a Fellow of the American Chemical Society. Dr. Berreau has mentored 10 Ph.D. graduates to date along with 3 MS recipients and >50 undergraduate researchers. Her laboratory is currently comprised of 4 Ph.D. students and 3 undergraduates. Dr. Berreau’s students have been the recipients of numerous grants, honors and awards including a American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship, a National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship, and >10 Undergraduate Research & Creative Opportunities (URCO) grants from USU.

Dr. Berreau has been especially dedicated to pursuing external research funding in support of acquiring new instrumentation. She was a contributing PI to successful NSF proposals for a 300 MHz Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) instrument and upgrades for an Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) instrument. She has served as PI on NSF Major Research Instrumentation awards for a 500 MHz NMR and a benchtop X-ray crystallography system.

Dr. Berreau routinely serves as a reviewer for academic journals and on NSF and NIH review panels. She has chaired 12 NIH postdoctoral fellowship review panels. External to USU she is also currently the treasurer for the 5000+ member American Chemical Society Division of Inorganic Chemistry (2014-present). She is a member of the American Chemical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Council on Undergraduate Research, the Society for Biological Inorganic Chemistry, and the International Society of Heterocyclic Chemistry.

In July 2005 she became the Associate Dean for Research and Faculty in the College of Science at Utah State University. Her assignments in the Dean’s office included areas such as the promotion and tenure process, faculty data, and undergraduate and graduate student funding and awards. Dr. Berreau served as Interim Dean of the USU College of Science from July 2014 – August 2015. During that period she facilitated the development of the college-level business services center and the enhancement of teaching resources for 1000-level courses in the Departments of Biology and Chemistry & Biochemistry. In September 2015, Dr. Berreau became the Executive Associate Dean of the USU College of Science where her portfolio was expanded to include space and facility utilization, safety, and contributions to the design of the College of Science website and alumni magazine.

Dr. Berreau joined the Office of Research and Graduate Studies in July 2018 as Associate Vice President for Research. She was named Vice President for Research in July 2020.