Research Council

The Research Council advises the Vice president for Research in all matters pertaining to research and other scholarly or creative activity of the University:

  • In the formulation of policy, including research priorities and procedures for attaining them;
  • In the encouragement and stimulation of research in the context of instructional and other goals of the University;
  • In monitoring, reviewing, and evaluating cross-college research programs in the University; and
  • In recommending to the Vice President for Research the allocation of all funds available for research and related purposes to be expended through the office of the Vice President for Research.

Research Council Membership

The council is chaired by the Vice President for Research. The permanent membership of the Research Council consists of:

  • Vice President for Research
  • Provost
  • Vice Provost or Acting Vice Provost, School of Graduate Studies
  • Director of the Water Research Laboratory
  • Dean of each college of the University or a staff member designated by the Dean to represent research in the respective college
  • Director of the Agricultural Experiment Station

Additional members may be added to the council upon recommendation of the Vice President for Research and approval by the senate.

Research Council Voting Roster

Name Title/Representing Ext. UMC
Lisa M. Berreau Vice President for Research, Chair 1180 1450
Larry Smith Provost 1167 1435
Doug Anderson or Chad Simon/designee J. M. Huntsman School of Business 7212 3555
Jagath Kaluarachchi or Rose Hu/designee Dean, College of Engineering 2776 4100
Michelle Baker or Susannah French/designee Dean, College of Science 8408 0305
Alan Smith or Shawn Whiteman/designee Dean, E. Eccles Jones College of Educ. & Human Services 1469 2800
Joseph Ward or Julia Gossard/designee Dean, College of Humanities & Social Sciences 1195 0700
David Tarboton or designee Director, Utah Water Research Laboratory 3188 8200
Nicholas Morrison or designee Interim Dean, Caine College of the Arts 3506 4015
Peter Adler or designee Director of Ecology Center 2555 5205
Ken White or Greg Cuomo/designee Dean, College of Agriculture & Applied Sciences & Agriculture Experiment Station 2162 4815
Jennifer Duncan or designee Dean of Libraries 2687 3000
Doug Ramsey or designee Faculty Senate Representative 7049 4110
Matthew Wappett or designee Exec. Director, Institute for Disabilities Research, Policy & Practice 1981 6800
Linda Nagel or designee Dean, College of Natural Resources 2452 5200
Brian Steed or Anna McEntire Executive Director, Janet Quinney Lawson Institute for Land, Water & Air 1306 1400
Brian Higginbotham Associate Vice President for Extension 7276 4900
Dirk Vanderwall or Ralph Meyer/designee Interim Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine 2162 4815